5…4…3…2…1…

…blast off!  Well, hi there. Have you come to the right place? Are you comfy? Are your glasses on? Shoes off? Pillow adjusted? Tie loosened? I have no idea. However, I do know that this is the inaugural post on Semi-Material World, and I’m glad you’re here.

So. What’s it all about? The short answer is in the tagline: thoughtful perspectives on our relationship with stuff. But the longer answer deserves a bit more elaboration.

To set the stage: it’s the very end of 2010, and I spent a lot of time over the past six-or-so months seeking out and absorbing all the books, blogs, and news I could on topics such as minimalist living, decluttering, “simple” parenting (ha), job-hacking, vagabonding, outsourcing, debt reduction, work revisioning, and the active pursuit of dreams. For me it was a case of connecting with exactly the right ideas at the right time, and the more I read, the more I experienced a succession of those rare, everything’s-slipping-into-place “aha!” moments that felt like – well, everything was slipping into place. Then I started making changes. I cut my personal expenses, cleared a huge amount of physical clutter, paid off debt, and started working less to spend more time with my kid. In part, Semi-Material World will document this continuing journey in 2011 and my ongoing inquiry into the role of stuff in my own life.

But here’s the other thing. The more I’ve read, the more I’ve been thinking deeply and critically about the minimalist movement, as well as some of the murkier, perhaps not-quite-so-clear-cut issues around consumerism and ownership. In a nutshell, I’m thinking about both the negative and positive aspects of consuming, buying, keeping things, and living with all of our myriad kinds of “stuff” in an almost-inescapably material world. So, the blog will investigate some of these questions as well, and hopefully initiate some open and honest dialogue with others who have similar things on their minds.

As I wind along this messy (cluttered?) road towards my own conclusions, I’ll share thoughts on a range of topics connected with minimalism, consumption, lifestyle, and yeah, our relationship with our stuff. I hope you’ll join me in the conversation.


 

About Lisa

Living with stuff since 1972. Writing about it since 2011.
This entry was posted in What is the Semi-Material World, anyway?. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5…4…3…2…1…

  1. Hey Lisa!

    I’m interested in traveling that messy cluttered road with you. I love your writing style. Here’s a big cheer for your inauguration speech!

    Tanja

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks so much, Tanja…and I’m completely thrilled that my first comment is from such a kick-ass writer! Yes, let’s travel that road – it’s such an exciting time to do so.

      take care,
      Lisa

Leave a Reply

