Project 333, Part Two (aka Taking It On The Road)

Well hello there, Semi-Material Worlders! I’m back from the land of antibiotics and stuffed nose, neti pot rinsing and wan complexion and bed. I got back on Friday, in fact, from my first business trip in more than two years. (Forty-eight hours in Ottawa, to be exact – and Ottawa in February ain’t pretty.) I’ve managed to avoid work travel for the past three years, and I really couldn’t get out of it – so off I went.

As I pulled my little rollie-suitcase-thing out from under the stairs last Wednesday, I had a revelation: this would be a real opportunity to practice my skills as a Project 333-driven, super-calm minimalist packing ninja. I would bring only what I absolutely required for two full days away from home – no more, no less. I needed to look professional for two full working days; go for a run at some point; take two plane trips; and go to my friends’ place for dinner. So what to pack?

I’m a terrible packer. Nina Yau and Francine Jay I ain’t. I grossly overestimate what I’ll need, and often convince myself that packing knee-high boots AND ankle boots AND heels for a 5-day vacation is totally necessary for fashionable fun and frolic. I bring full-sized bottles of liquid products, because I forget that I can’t, which makes bag(s) heavy, cumbersome, and all-around annoying – and they need to be checked. (Remind me to tell you about the time my best friend and I travelled to New York City to perform with two hula hoops and a bag full of glitter and tutus.) Anyway, fueled by my recent Project 333 freedom, I knew that this time was going to be different.

I open my dresser drawer and inspected its contents, feeling the start of my usual packing anxiety kicking in. Don’t think too hard, I commanded myself. You are a minimalist packing ninja.

Hmmm. I shoved a black skirt, a teal tank top, and a black wool cardigan into my little suitcase. All part of my usual Project 333 work-roster, no big deal. Deep breath. OK, what else? A pair of black tights, rolled into a tight ball. A black print dress. I can wear the dress on Friday at the conference with the cardigan. OK. So far, so good. Jeans? Yes, jeans for the plane with my grey sweatshirt today. But I don’t like wearing plane clothes twice! Planes make everything so grubby. Ech. I need more plane clothes for the return trip. Right. A pair of black leggings and a leopard-print t-shirt –  into the suitcase they went. I would wear my black knee-high boots with everything and my parka, scarf and gloves for the crappy weather. My running gear, rolled up – and I was done. Whew. Could it be that easy? I finished the task by stuffing a small cosmetic case with eyeliner, mascara, lip balm, deoderant, and two small containers of shampoo and conditioner. I sighed with satisfaction. Packing had taken me less than 5 minutes, and I had everything I need.

Except, as I discovered when I went to dress on Thursday morning, this minimalist packing ninja had forgotten to pack a couple of key items.

Like, for example, a change of underwear.*

But hadn’t I packed perfectly and precisely? I didn’t fret about which clothes to bring! I was well-dressed and light in spirit! My days of packing-woe were supposed to be behind me! 

Damn. Damn. Damn.

Yes, well. You haven’t had an anxious morning until you stand shivering in your beige hotel bathroom, frantically blow-drying your only pair of underwear on High as the clock ticks towards your 9am meeting.

‘Nuff said.

*And OK, also extra socks, facial cleanser, pajamas, and moisturizer. Yep.

About Lisa

Living with stuff since 1972. Writing about it since 2011.
This entry was posted in Fashion. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Project 333, Part Two (aka Taking It On The Road)

  1. *pol says:

    LOL!!!!
    My husband (as organized and precise a guy as you’ll ever meet) forgot to pack underwear on our honeymoon 16 years ago. And I never let him forget it. Me, it’s the first thing I pack, one for each day + 2 more.
    Thanks for the great reminder of the sweet (minor) fallabilities in all of us.

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks *pol! Yep, it was really humbling (err, humiliating?)…so much for feeling perfectly in control.

      I’ll keep your “every day plus 2 extra” strategy in mind for my next voyage out. Pretty sure underwear is something I’ll never get too minimalist about! 🙂

      take care,
      Lisa

Leave a Reply

